jump to navigation

Roadblock October 16, 2008

Posted by phoenixaeon in Audiobooks, bedtime, stupid internet.
trackback

Grrr. There were roadblocks on the information super-highway yesterday. And on the moving picture box.

Yep, had no TV and no internet yesterday. You would have thought that would have forced me to be more productive with the writing. I did get some exercises from the BRB done, but no internet and no TV meant that there were no other distractions for Princi, meaning that I was her only distraction. She was quite happy to play with her toys on her own, but every time I took out my notebook she would come running up demanding a cuddle or to read a book. When she finally realised that Nanny’s TV still worked, I could no longer muster up any enthusiasm to write. I ended up vegging out with Guitar Hero instead. I must rectify my writing sins today. (Hopefully. Princi is off school still as she is not sleeping too well because she is still suffering with a nasty cough that chokes her during the night. Poor babe.)

I have recently found a good way to send me off to sleep, but it also means that I’ve ruled out audiobooks as an easy way to ‘read’ a book. Over the last week or so, I have been listening to various audiobooks when going to bed. I can’t believe how relaxing it is! Within ten-fifteen minutes I’m dozing away like a good’un! I don’t know how much of the story I actually get to listen to, but I wake up about an hour and a half later. Good thing too, I need to switch off the iPod. But it has proved that I can’t actively listen for the time required to listen to an audiobook. I’ll continue to listen to them though, as they really do help me to sleep. It just means that I will have to buy Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell in book form. Ho hum!

Anyhoos, must get going. Need to get ready to go to the school for a parent/teacher meeting.

Comments»

1. picasso36 - October 16, 2008

Know what you mean.I have our tutorial on Saturday also,shame we all seem to have different tutors on this course.I have to go to Preston Uni for mine.looking forward to it,may pick up some ideas.

2. phoenixaeon - October 16, 2008

I couldn’t listen to an audiobook if I was driving (not that I can drive!), I wouldn’t be able to concentrate. I don’t bother starting again, I just carry on from where I left off, as I know I’ll be falling asleep again. Active listening is not for me. And besides, listening doesn’t provide the immediacy as reading does when you get to a good part of a book and you can’t put it down.

Not panicking yet about TMA01, I’m doing serious TMA avoidance, so scared of it I am! I’m in two minds at the moment, not sure whether to use the church spire (which gave me sky beasts and muses) or trampled flower (mechanical fairies). Ho hum, best decide soon, or try to write two pieces and then choose. I’ll see how I’m feeling after my tutorial on Saturday.

3. picasso36 - October 16, 2008

No internet or tele.It would drive me bloody nuts especially losing the internet.
Hope princi gets better soon.
Audiobooks-what a weird thing they are.You sort of forget they exist,or at least I do.The ones i have listened to i enjoyed.Have tended to use them in the car to help break up a journey.When,like you,I have listened to them in bed I also fall asleep.Trouble is then I don’t know where i am up to and have to start again which irrates me.
Ah well,back to panicing over tma01.Going with the church spire and saving/expanding “Mikalis” for tma02(maybe)


Leave a Reply

