jump to navigation

Mirrors and grandmas. October 18, 2008

Posted by phoenixaeon in A215, OU, tennis, Tutors, writing.
trackback

I had my tutorial today. I’m so glad I made it there. It was great to put faces to names, and good to meet my tutor. I surprised myself with some things that I scribbled for one of the exercises that we went through, particularly because one of them made me cry. In the exercise in question there were a number of sentence beginnings that we had to finish. One of them read ‘If I could lighten up a little I would…’ I finished this sentence with ‘…not be afraid of falling.’ Now anyone who knows me would know why this is important to me, although it could have connotations on many different onions. I mean levels. When I wrote this, I didn’t think too much about it. It was only when working with another girl in the tutor group, and me answering her after she put that beginning to me, that the full force of the sentence hit me. And I cried. And pologised for crying, I felt so daft! But once it’s out there, it’s out there, and there is nothing you can do about it. Ah well! Otherwise, I did get something out of the tutorial, and it gave me lots to think about. Yay!

In another exercise, I had to do two timed free writes. I was shocked at what came out. I started editing down what I had written, and I think I may get an interesting story out of it. I’m feeling quite invigorated, and a little more enthusiastic about writing at the minute.

On sporty news… Yay for Andy Murray! He has made it into the final of the Madrid Masters. And that isn’t the only good news for him, as he faces Gilles Simon and not Rafa. Made up. I will be watching that match tomorrow. Heee!

Comments»

1. picasso36 - October 19, 2008

Hey Ally,
I really enjoyed my tutorial.jennie,my tutor,was great.Loads of clusters/very stimulating.Good to see that everyone was as nervous about their work as we are about ours.Going to write like demon tomorrow.
Nothing wrong with crying.I’ve not cried for years,until i started some of my freewrites/Haiku.Amazing what comes out.Maybe it needed to come out.Finding all this quite cathartic,which is good.Plus everything we say and do is all material.


Leave a Reply

