jump to navigation

She admits it ain’t no kinda life… October 29, 2008

Posted by phoenixaeon in Uncategorized.
trackback

If you had told me 15 years ago that I would actually have the chance to see Bryan Adams play live, well, I’d have told you that you were lying. If you’d told me that I’d be sat in a wheelchair rather than being over-excited in the pit, I’d have had you committed. But those are the apples. Sat up in the wheelchair section watching the legend that is Mr. Adams. I think I fell in love with him all over again last night. He played a truly fantastic gig, playing (nearly) all of my favourite songs.

He started out playing ‘Can’t Stop This Thing We Started’ and ‘Please Forgive Me’, just him and his guitar on a mini stage in the middle of the pit. Wow, ‘twas brill! Then, as he made his way along the side of the pit to the stage he sang ‘Somebody’. From then on, I can’t remember the set list! But for at least two hours he didn’t stop. When he reached ‘When You’re Gone’ he picked a girl out the crowd to sing with him. Poor thing, she couldn’t sing, but she had a damn fine time none the less! I was a bit grrr until she said that she worked as a fundraiser for a children’s charity, at which point I thought, well, she deserves her time in the spotlight, sharing a stage with Bryan Adams. She had the crowd in pleats too, not just with her singing, but with her on-stage antics.

He finished the gig as he started – just him and his guitar, singing ‘All For Love’. It was all fan-bloody-tastic! I’m so glad I had the opportunity to see him play. I tell you, it was worth every single penny of the ticket money, and if he plays here again I am so there!

And now it’s back to reality. This morning I have to tidy up the commentary for TMA01, sort out the front page, then send the bloody thing away and stop stressing about it. Then it’s onto a few exercises in the BRB (big red book) and planning the next TMA and putting some ideas down for the ECA (end of course assessment). I don’t want to be caught off guard in May and only have two weeks to get the ECA done. Must plan ahead for that bit.

The shuffle on the Ipod is mixing madness again. This morning it started by played:

  • Underwater Love – Faith No More
  • Autumn in New York – Harry Connick Jr.
  • Stop Dragging My Heart Around – Tom Petty and Stevie Nicks
  • Some Day I’ll Be Saturday Night – Bon Jovi
  • Rebels – Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers
  • Le Sacre Du Printemps, Part 2: Sacraficial Dance – Stravinsky
  • Leaving on a Jet Plane – Me First and the Gimmie Gimmies
  • Anyone Else But You – The Moldy Peaches
  • Good For You – Third Eye Blind
  • King Arthur: From the lake, the Sword Excalibur – read by Sean Bean

Well, must get working.

Comments»

1. phoenixaeon - October 29, 2008

Heh, I kind of remember Saxon. Didn’t they try to make a comeback a few years back? Or was that Thunder? Ah, confused!

Strange that, Hawkwind was my second gig, back in 1993. I was piddled off that I missed Def Leppard earlier in the year, as well as Counting Crows and Deacon Blue. I never said my music tastes were easily categorised!

Shuffling is good, but don’t wear soft shoes!

2. picasso36 - October 29, 2008

Glad you enjoyed it.I don’t know why I don’t go to more gigs,the same with art gallerys.We have loads on our doorstep and I rarely get off my backside.
Last gig i went to was AC/DC.The did a reunion gig at the Hammersmith Apollo.Tiny place only 4000 tickets available,mainly snapped up by the media(Cat deeley,Stereophonics etc)The others sold out in 4mins online,the fastest ever!Bloody great night but when they set off the cannons in such a small place,well my ticker nearly gave up!!
Sisters of Mercy are bloody great,still listen to Floodland now.Never got to see them though-you lucky thing.My first gig was Saxon,not too cool I know,followed by Hawkwind who were classic.Still have a bit of a thing for Rebecca Morrison from the Sisters and Ofra Haza(RIP)who featured on “Temple of love”
“But those are the apples”-Love that.Like “he knows his onions”
Off now to use the shuffle feature for the first time.Should be fun.I see it almost like a cluster.


Leave a Reply

