jump to navigation

Of pretty books and plasticine toothbrushes. November 27, 2008

Posted by phoenixaeon in Bloody books, The Principessa Files.
trackback

Me. Call me the book magpie. Put a shiny, pretty book in front of me and you can be sure that I will have to have it. And more fool me to be part of the Folio Society book club. I luvz their bookz. So, imagine the sight; eyes like saucers as I stared in awe at the new lure to make me keep my memebership. The lure? An illustrated version of Phillip Pullman’s His Dark Materials. Free. I am sure I could have done the wide eyed style of acting Richard Donner wanted in The Goonies! OK, so the free isn’t quite so free, I have to order two other books which will probably cost me around £50 over the next year, but that’s nothing! Especially seeing as I’d have to shell out £80 if I were to buy the Pullman books. So I think I shall be renewing my membership for the next year. (This could also prove problematic, as there will undoubtedly be other books that will make me cry; ‘I want that one!’)

As for plasticine toothbrushes:

Princi: (Runs downstairs after brushing teeth) But maybe I could brush my teeth in school, and make a toothbrush from blue play-doh.

Comments»

1. phoenixaeon - November 27, 2008

Yeah, the intro gift usually is good, but the four books straight away is a bit of a killer. I’ve been with them for about 7 years, so every year they send a renew your membership letter with various offers. I just wait until they send me one that I really like. I just wish I could get some of the really expensive books, like the Liber Bestarium or some of the Shakespeare letterpress books. I did fork out £60 for a copy of Dante’s Purgatorio with illustrated with paintings by Salvador Dali. Oh, and a copy of Paradise Lost.

2. picasso36 - November 27, 2008

Just had a look at the folio society.You get a good intro gift atm,but none that really float my boat.then need to buy four books by the end of February.Undecided.
Making calenders later.Super mario collage for Dan,High school musical for Lucy.
Hope you are feeling better.


Leave a Reply

