jump to navigation

Warm sun feed me up. November 30, 2008

Posted by phoenixaeon in music, Poetry.
trackback

Oh, so here’s an interesting music/poetry meme nicked from Elizabeth Bear’s blog.

Put your music player on shuffle, and write down the first line of the first twenty songs. Post the poem that results. The first line of the twenty-first song is the title.

I was never cool in school.

Oh it’s healing. Bang. Bang. Bang.

I was walking down the street.

She says it’s cold outside and she hands me my raincoat.

You’ll never be.


I’d be really pleased to meet you if I could remember your name.

The song he sang was surfaces.

You’re humming softly to yourself.

Boy you know you make me float.


Last night I said to her.

Somewhere out in the back of your mind.

Well, I’m standing here looking at you.

Oh baby don’t it feel like heaven right now.


I’m on a train, but there’s no one at the helm.

I hear the roar of a big machine.

Here lies everything.

Here we are with good-bye in our eyes.


Eddie waited till he finished high school.

This circus is falling down on its knees.

Oh the sisters of mercy, they are not departed or gone.

Well I guess you left me with some feathers in my hand.


Underground – Ben Folds Five.

You’re The Storm – The Cardigans

Kick – Adam and the Ants

3am – Matchbox 20

Keep Fishin’ – Weezer

Incommunicado – Marillion

Elric The Enchanter – Hawkwind

Seashell – Seabear

Rock Da Boat – Aaliyah

She’ll Come Back To Me – CAKE

Rooms On Fire – Stevie Nicks

Antmusic – Adam and the Ants

The Waiting – Tom Petty

Narcolepsy – Third Eye Blind

Lucretia, My Reflection – Sisters Of Mercy

Everything You Ever – Neil Patrick Harris

Who’s Leaving Who – Hazell Dean

Into The Great Wide Open – Tom Petty

Raining in Baltimore – Counting Crows

Sisters of Mercy – Leonard Cohen

Angel of the Silences – Counting Crows

(I didn’t skip duplicate artists, but I did skip audiobook chapters and instrumentals.)

Comments»

1. skippy - December 1, 2008

ooh fab I just did mine, I particularly like the last 2 verses heheheh!

2. picasso36 - November 30, 2008

Ooh,I like that concept.Surprisingly parts of it work really well.Just given my i-pod to my Uncle for work.Will have to reclaim it eventually.

Phew,one month of blogging.Well done.Going for forty winks now-been painting all afternoon.Not sure how it will turn out-we shall see.


Leave a Reply

