jump to navigation

And it’s 2009. January 1, 2009

Posted by phoenixaeon in A215, books, Goals for the year, Happy learning Principessa, New year was only slightly more alive than a dead spider.
trackback

And here it is, welcomed in with all the glamour of a wet squib! Princi toddled off upstairs to bug Nanny at about 7.30pm, leaving Grandand and I to veg out in front of the TV. Our NY celebrations consisted of The Bourne Ultimatum and catching up with the BBC remake of The 39 Steps. And you know, that’s all well and good for me. Princi woke up this morning and demanded the biggest tickle huggle, and that is the best welcome into the NY I could have wanted. Her giggle is the best in the world, especially when she decides that the duvet is the Gruffalo’s cave and she tries to jump out and scare me!

So, it is list time. What is on the cards for this year?

  1. As ever, lose more weight.
  2. Decide what OU course to take next – will it be English language or English literature?
  3. Ummm, after that, I’ve not really thought. Maybe do some more thinking.

As for writing?

  1. Get going with the poetry TMA.
  2. Complete A215 to the best of my ability, and hope for some divine inspiration to complete it better than that!
  3. Start a new poetry book. I miss collecting all my poetry into one disorganised, almost diary-like but not because I don’t necessarily write on consecutive pages, book.
  4. Look over two short stories I have started and work out what’s not working, fix it, then finish them.
  5. Start preparing TMA05 and the ECA.
  6. Dig out Trees of Buckland, work out what went wrong, fix and continue. Let’s see if I can get it written.

And the fiction reading list for the start of the year?

  1. Cybermancy and Codespell by Kelly McCullough
  2. The first 3 trade paperbacks of Buffy Season 8.
  3. Day of the Triffids by John Wyndham
  4. Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

And that is that.  There are other books, but they are the books first and foremost on my mind.

Anyways. Stuff to do. Poetry to poetise (compose is far too correct. Poetise is much better!). A Principessa to make a fuss over and read stuff to and teach to read and write. A Nanny with wrists to slap for allowing Principessa to watch too much TV.  And a computer to switch off.

Comments»

1. picasso36 - January 1, 2009

Never made it to Manchester last night,Stayed in and hade a party here.Quite civilised really and enjoyed it more than I thought.Although going to bed at four,only to be rudely awoke by nans caters at seven wasn’t great.
2009-hmmm
1.Lose weight-snap
2.Do well on OU course-snap
3.Get Lucy/Dan away from their DS addiction.Bought them both a paint your own pig moneybox for xmas.Spent all yesterday decorating them.Which made me grumpy,but kept them busy and creative.More of the same needed.
4.Feel i am on track with the course atm,but I think things will unravel very quickly if I don’t keep up the pressure.
As for reading,whatever tickles my fancy.Ooh,just remembered buy a moleskin notebook.
Looking at the OU,I really don’t know what to do next.Nothing grabs my attention.
Art wise-looking for advice Ally.
What style do you think I should paint in?
What do you like?
Searching for inspiration.
Anyway hope it’s a good one for all of us.
PS.Sorry for rambling-tad delicate.


Leave a Reply

