jump to navigation

In awe… January 15, 2009

Posted by phoenixaeon in books.
Tags: ,
trackback

In an effort to try and find some inspiration for the poetry, I began reading two books last night: 52 Ways Of Looking At  A Poem by Ruth Padel and The Thirteen Clocks by James Thurber. While the Padel book is great, explaining the structure and internal rhyme and rhythm of the poems analysed, I am finding more inspiration from Thurber’s book, and I am in awe of his writing.

Now, The Thirteen Clocks is a kid’s book. It is a mix of  fairytales, each seamlessly integrated to give a whole new story. But that, for me, does not detract or distract from the dizzying use of assonance, alliteration and rhyme that Thurber uses in his prose. I had to put it down after the fist page and a half, just to digest the skill used in the writing. And when I say dizzying, I mean that it physically made me dizzy as my brain tried to keep up. It is fantastic.

Yes. This is a kid’s book, but I’ve never read anything quite like it. And I have read an awful lot of kid’s books over the last few years. Not just books for kids under five, but a lot of YA too, and a few for kids inbetween the under fives and YA. I wont lie, I quite like reading these books. However, nothing comes close to The Thirteen Clocks in it’s uniqueness in the use of poetic prose.

I actually can’t believe that I’m all asquee about this book. I know I can get enthusiastic about books, but usually they are somthing like Little Brother, or in years past – Geisha of Gion, Spares, Necroscope, Creed. But trust me, if you’re looking for something to spark the poet in you, you can’t go wrong with The Thirteen Clocks!

Comments»

1. picasso36 - January 15, 2009

Cheers Ally.Who do you tend to use for your books?Amazon?

phoenixaeon - January 15, 2009

Depends. If I’m online it’s either Amazon or Waterstones. I don’t like using Amazon because they are killing the publishing industry, but I do use them. If I’m out, it’s Borders.

2. picasso36 - January 15, 2009

Where do you find all these books.I look for interesting things but you seem to pluck gems from nowhere.
I am having a few isssues.The assonace fine-i like that and seem to be able to use it.
I think alliteration is ok but shouln’t be overused.
The problem I have is with rhyme.I can do it but when the subject is serious it seems to detract somehow and make it child like.Almost like making a mockery of a bad scenario.Not saying this well but it feels like it overtakes the subject somehow.Maybe they should be less obvious somehow.Tough to know what is good and what is bad with this section.

phoenixaeon - January 15, 2009

I know what you mean – I think! I’ve stopped writing at the moment so I can sit and read some poetry. I’ve decided that if I read poetry for a day or two then something might rub off. Have a look at the Padel book, it is good for demonstrating the use of rhyme, both line-ending and internal, while analyising a poem.


Leave a Reply

