jump to navigation

Trochee? Spondee? January 30, 2009

Posted by phoenixaeon in A215, OU.
Tags:
trackback

You know, the more I read about poetry, the more it seems completely elusive. Over the last few nights, I have been reading Tom Paulin‘s The Secret Life Of Poems. To say it makes me doubt my gossamer grasp on poetry is an understatement. I don’t even think I am lashed onto a foot of poetry. I have no idea how I am going to comment on why I have chosen the metre (or not) for my poems. Stresses? Stressing me out more like!

Today I think I might concentrate on a poem in pentameter. Whether it’ll be iambic is another question. I will have to record the damn thing and then analyse the stresses. I have never before had to analyse the way I speak, but if I don’t I don’t think I’ll crack this. Hmmm. I am really confused!

Comments»

1. picasso36 - January 30, 2009

Brave to go for poetry,wish I had the guts.i get the feeling if you find your voice and style you can rattle poems off fairly quickly.Easier said than done.
yeh,bit of relief over the degree,relistically i am hoping for a 2:1.Still think it’s harder than red-brick without proper tutorial,daily lecture support.of course we are all different.
Next four months-gonna be tough.Hoping for a reasonable Pass 2.be nice to have the summer off,could do with a break to concentrate on painting.
Where are you looking for magazine submissions?I am thinking of re-jigging the cretan mountain men and sending it to SAGA.Utter crap and not inspiring I know but I just want the pass and move forward.Bog209 sorted?

phoenixaeon - January 30, 2009

Yup, Bog209 is a happy Bog209. Thankfully. I am independent again! Sort of.

I was going to look at submission criteria for magazines like IOTA, maybe Writer’s Forum (good monthly magazine, there are some really helpful articles in there). Going to have a further trawl around other poetry magazines and see what comes up. I don’t think you actually have to send them out, you just look at the stuff in the magazine and at their submissions policy, and then decide whether your writing would be suited to it.

I’m looking forward to a break after this course too. I seriously need a recharge.

2. picasso36 - January 30, 2009

Gossamer grasp-very good Ally.I have pretty much made a strategic decision to move through/away from poetry.as you say it’s too elusive.I have absolutely no idea what’s good or bad.Totally confused.Am going to use the Stephen Hawkins one and the villanelle you looked at.
We have just short of a month before it’s due,so i am going to concentrate all next on eca preparation.Worried about the timescale,its like a rock gayhering speed after this tma.
Oh,pentameter,very brave.Get the concept cannot do it,or should I say cant write anything good when trying to hold the stresses and a rhyme scheme.
Spoke to the assesment board yesterday.You know how this marking has been bugging me.Very hard to explain but basically its your two level 3 courses which will carry the most weight towards degree classification.So tis possible to get pass 2’s now and still get a first/2:1.Although to get a first you must have one level 3 course at distinction.So it’s still possible.

phoenixaeon - January 30, 2009

I’m trying to do a few more poems than just the ones for this TMA, as I’m thinking of using poetry for 04 and 05. I want to get the legwork done now so I don’t start panicking. Going to start looking into the magazine submissions probably next week, and start making plans for 05. Hopefully I am not biting off more than I can chew.

That’s a relief about the degree classification. Means I can breathe a little easier now. Well, that is until I reach the level 3 courses and start panicking again. I can’t believe that in just over another four months time this course will be done and dusted. Wow! It’s a bit of a scary ride until then, though!


Leave a Reply

