jump to navigation

A stitch in rhyme… February 16, 2009

Posted by phoenixaeon in A215, lost words, My poor brain, Poetry.
Tags:
trackback

Is so bloody complicated you need the Fates and the Muses and all the fallen warriors of Valhalla just to get through one line! Argh!

Yep, my head is battered! At the minute I am picking the stitches of the two poems I am using for the TMA. I am looking for:

  • Full ryhme – line end or other
  • Slant rhyme
  • Eye rhyme – though I’m not keen on these
  • Alliteration
  • Assonance
  • meter – I know the meter for one, but not the other.
  • Elision

Now, the alliteration, assonance and elision is easy. The making lists of the rhymes is easy. It’s just the putting it all together to make a decent commentary, because when I look at some of the lists magical serendipity occurs. Especially in the alliteration lists. And why is it serendipity? Simple; because when I composed the poems I was unaware of what was happening. I just picked the words that I felt sounded right. So now, when picking through the structure and taking the alliterative words from the lines (yes, I’m not just saying that the alliteration is on single lines, I’m taking it from throughout the poem), further meaning can be construed. This is making it all the more difficult. Bum! Talk about bloody onions and their layers.

I think I may go and rest my head. I may just be confusing myself. And besides, Princi wants to play word games. Will I ever dodge the lure of wordage.

Comments»

1. carolinegrace - February 16, 2009

Duh! U try 2 hard!

phoenixaeon - February 16, 2009

I know! Can’t help it!


Leave a Reply

