jump to navigation

And so the panic starts. April 6, 2009

Posted by phoenixaeon in A215, Andy Murray wins Masters, ECA, Life writing, Poetry, tennis, TMA04, TMA05, writing.
trackback

Two weeks for the Easter holiday. Just less than two weeks before I need to submit the next TMA. Struggling to write the 500 words commentary. Argh! Also struggling to polish the poems for TMA05, and starting to worry that they might be too repetitive, even though I was kind of aiming for that within the sequence. Feeling really frustrated that I can’t seem to get one line right in the Cassandra poem, seriously need the blinkers taken off! And then I need to prune the ECA prose piece and work on two poems (at least) and a 700 words commentary for that! Argh! Two months to get it all done. Here’s the rundown:

  1. TMA04 = Life writing. 1500 words + 500 words reflective commentary. (Apr 17)
  2. TMA05 = Publication research, themed sequence of poems (at least 3)  40 lines (max 42) + 500 words reflective commentary + reading final chapters of BRB. (May 15)
  3. ECA = 1500 words prose (life writing) + 40-50 lines poetry + 700 words reflective commentary. (June 5)

Argh! Argh! Argh! Seems so much to do in such a short time! And to add to that, Princi’s half term holiday starts on May 25, so there’s two weeks gone of the ECA prep. So I suppose I best get down to some work now while Princi is distracted – watching Pingu on the laptop inbetween finding games on the CBBC website and playing Muzzy interactive. When she gets bored, we’ll do some more reading of her phonics books and learning about rhyming.

________________________________________________________________________

Andy Murray wins in Miami.

Andy Murray wins in Miami. (Picture from The Independant)

As for tennis, yay! for Andy Murray. He beat Novak Djokovic 6-2, 7-5 in the Miami Masters final yesterday. The first set was all Murray, as he raced to a 4-0 lead. The second set was looking to go the same way as Murray broke Djokovic in the first game. But then Djokovic called for the trainer, and that really got into Murray’s head. Djokovic won the next four games before Murray mounted a comeback.

Some of Murray’s passing shots were fantastic. He outplayed Djokovic something chronic! It was a fabulous game to watch, even when Murray was 4-1 down in the second set. Looking forward to seeing if he has improved on clay now.

Comments»

1. picasso36 - April 6, 2009

Panic it is in deed.I just can’t make my mind up which way round to do things.Thought I would use the tma04 piece and extend for the eca,got some new thoughts on it.Then decided on a new 04 piece and planned it in my head.
Now thinking of going back to original plan,but combining the two.Confused?I certainly am!!
Ok-timescale a thought process.
Overall tma04 is 10% of course mark,therefore if 80% was only 70%,it would only mean a 1% decrease overall. The same for tma05.
So two 70’s instead of 80’s only show as 2% overall.
The point being eca,eca,and more eca!!
So,tma04 is being redrafted today.End of week is deadline for it finished completely,including commentary.Am saying tma05 needs to be totally finished by the 17th April.
If I follow this it gives me six weeks for the eca,which seems reasonable.Or thats the plan,till i change my mind again.Think you are mad doing poetry and prose etc,but impressive.
Still feel terrible,but ho hum.Not eating much so hopefully will have lost a couple of pounds!

phoenixaeon - April 6, 2009

Yep. I plan to have finished 04 by the end of the week. I’m half way through the commentary, and more or less finished with the fixes to the piece. I’ve got the poems written, but not fixed for TMA05, and need to get the reading done for it. I’ve got the prose written for the ECA, it just needs pruning down to 1300 words. I’ve got a number of poems on the go, but I’m just confusing myself with them. I have even started a new one in the last half an hour! Not good seeing as I have about 5 unfinished ones. My brain is all over the place. The commentaries are going to cause the problems for me at the mo. Bugger. And with the lack of time with four weeks worth of school holidays, doesn’t help much!


Leave a Reply

