jump to navigation

The books are coming to get me. June 12, 2009

Posted by phoenixaeon in EA300, OU, reading.
trackback

Right. I’m going to do it now. I’m going to book my place on the Kid Lit course

Done. My place on the course is reserved. I am still petrified though. It’s my first level three course, so I have no idea of what to expect and that is what scares me. Particularly the final ECA. But I’m on the course and I’ll batter my way through it as best I can. And so to the books that are coming to get me. Here is my reading list for the next few months in preparation for the course:

  • Treasure Island – Robert Louis Stephenson
  • Little Women – Louisa May Alcott
  • Northern Lights – Philip Pullman
  • Junk – Melvin Burgess
  • The Other Side of Truth – Beverley Naidoo
  • Swallows and Amazons – Arthur Ransome
  • Mortal Engines – Philip Reeve
  • Roll of Thunder, Hear my Cry – Mildred Taylor
  • Voices in the Park – Anthony Browne
  • Tom’s Midnight Garden – Phillipa Pearce
  • The Tale of Peter Rabbit – Beatrix Potter
  • 100 Best Poems for Children – Roger McGough

Eeks! That’s a lot of books. I’ve already read Northern Lights (Harry Potter was another option here, and as much as I enjoyed the Harry Potter series I think Northern Lights and the rest of the His Dark Materials series is far more interesting), Peter Rabbit and Voices in the Park, I have dabbled in 100 Best Poems and I have started on The Other Side of Truth. I am hoping to throw some other books in ready for the ECA, as I know the independant study clause (stuff you’ve read of your own accord!) will be applicable to it. So I want to read The Knife of Never Letting Go (Patrick Ness) and possibly The Twig Trilogy (Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell). I have things like Coraline and The Graveyard Book (Neil Gaiman) on audiobook, though I also have TGB in hardback, so I have those I can use too. Ooh, despite the scaredycatness I am really looking forward to this course.

And so, off to finish The Other Side of Truth.

Comments»

1. Line - June 14, 2009

I’m registered on the course as well, really looking forward to it. Of course I still have A210 to finish up, thank God A215 is finished though, I have more spare time now 🙂

How was your ECA btw? What options did you go for in the end?

phoenixaeon - June 14, 2009

Hiya Line 🙂

When does A210 finish?

Yep, I’m glad the A215 is over too. In the end I opted for the life writing/poetry combination from section 2 for the ECA. Even though I received a good bad mark for TMA04, I wanted to try and improve on it. What did you do?

Line - June 15, 2009

A210 finishes in September, just just before children’s lit starts.
For the ECA I wrote the first chapters of a novel, it’s what I had been looking forward to for the whole course. I suck at writing short stories, but novel length ones are great (well that remains to be seen I guess).

phoenixaeon - June 15, 2009

I had thought about doing novel chapters, but I felt more unsure about that than I did the life writing. I will get moving on the novel plans I have at some point, though.

As for short stories, I think that is one thing A215 has encouraged me to try more of. The thought of writing short form scared me, but I think I managed to write a couple of good short stories during the course – even though I never used them!

2. dadwhowrites - June 13, 2009

That looks ace – I loved the Graveyard Book, though so far I think Coraline the film is superior to Coraline the book – better paced and more joined-up, somehow. But The Graveyard Book brought me to tears at a number of points.

phoenixaeon - June 13, 2009

I’ve not seen the film yet, and I really want to. I need someone to go with me because I have trouble rolling my wheelchair into the screenrooms. But I have enjoyed listening to the audiobook.

The Graveyard Book is brilliant. I think once I get round to reading it, rather than listening to it, I will enjoy it even more. 🙂

3. Marinela - June 12, 2009

Enjoye the course 🙂

phoenixaeon - June 12, 2009

Thank you Marinela 🙂 I think I will enjoy the course 😀


Leave a Reply

