jump to navigation

Game, set, match. June 24, 2009

Posted by phoenixaeon in Lolcat, tennis, Wimbledon.
trackback

Woohoo! Good news on the tennis front. Andy Murray won his match agaisnt Robert Kendrick – 7-5, 6-7 (3-7), 6-3, 6-4 – yesterday. Kendrick had some good moments when he made playing tennis look like a cakewalk and he also provided some good entertainment as he dived to try and reach some of Murray’s returns. It just looked like pulling teeth for Murray, there wasn’t much of his usual verve. Let’s hope he gets some of it back before his match with Ernests Gulbis in the second round.

And another woohoo, as Elena Baltacha fought through a three setter against Alona Bondarenko – 3-6, 6-3, 6-4 – to reach the second round. She is the only other Brit that won a first round match. I thought Joshua Goodall might have come through, but he tightened up in the last two games of the fifth set agaisnt Micheal Llodra, And Katie O’Brien and Georgie Stoop were looking good, but their three set battles against Iveta Benesova and Vera Zvonareva respectively ultimately ended in defeat. Ho hum.

Poor Marat Safin ended his Wimbledon dream yesterday, being beaten 6-2, 3-6, 7-6 (7-4), 6-4 by Jesse Levine. Such a pity. I’ve always enjoyed watching Safin play, but he’s had too many injuries dog his career. I hope he can win a few more matches before he quits at the end of the year.

I didn’t really watch much more than that, and even then I didn’t get to watch full matches. But still, it’s good to watch the little I can. And now for something completely untennis-related: the best LOLcat I think I have ever seen (pinched fron the Wyrdsmiths website)…..

Dunecat.

Dunecat.

Comments»

1. dadwhowrites - June 24, 2009

Maybe it’s time I reread Dune. Not much else to do with all this tennis going on…:)

phoenixaeon - June 24, 2009

All I have to say to that is :p

If I ever manage to recover my copy of Dune from my brother it will definitely be time for a re-read. Even then, it’ll have to wait until I’ve finished this next OU course.


Leave a Reply

