jump to navigation

Day three. August 5, 2009

Posted by phoenixaeon in A215, Battlestar Galactica, End of A215, reading, TV.
trackback

I’ve just checked my student home page and it looks like it’s going to be sometime today. Oh god! I feel sick! I don’t think I want to know anymore!

OK, deep breath. Why does results day impart so much flutterby belly? I mean, it’s just a couple of words (or letters, possibly followed by asterisks) on a screen/piece of paper, yet everything in the world seems to hang in the balance of what’s recorded there. I suppose in some cases it can be life changing – university is a bit of a shock in the first few weeks, then the drinking kicks in and you forget the rest of it – but mostly it’s just a way of measuring yourself against everyone else. When is that ever a good thing?

(Checking results page… Nope still not updated. Eeks!)

It’s not so much life changing for me. Well, maybe it will be to my state of mind, proving that I am better than I give myself credit for, or maybe it will prove that I am what I think I am. Whichever, I need to get on with preparations for the next course to see if I can improve on my resluts there. After all, it’s important that I do get a distinction there as it weighs heavily in favour of achieving a first. I am hoping my poor brain is able to cope with that. That’s why I need to get a good result today, so it doesn’t destroy my meagre confidence. And there is the underlying  cause of my flutterby belly.

And as for BSG; finished. Watched the last, long-winded episode last night. Most of the episode was good, but it really dragged in the middle. I really liked the very end, though. Very well done. Overall, it was a very good series. I will sit down and watch it through again at some point. But for now – no more series on DVD, I’ve got to do some reading. So back to Little Women it is.

(Checking student homepage. Still nowt.)

Comments»

1. John Hughes - August 5, 2009

Don’t think the results will be coming today, I’ve just checked myself (again). It will come on Friday I reckon, but that won’t stop me checking about twenty times tomorrow 🙂

I’ve just had a quick look over my ECA for the first time since I sent it. I noticed a couple of mistakes (only minor ones) and I think it could’ve been better in parts (I’ll probably go back and re-draft at some point, without the constraints of a word limit and the pressure of a deadline) even so, I’m still quite proud of it. I think it’s the best thing I did during the course so if I don’t get a grade 2 I’ll not be impressed.

As for you, I can say with 100% certainty that you are most definitely better than you give yourself credit for. Your ECA was better than mine (hard to compare fiction versus life writing + poetry, but let’s be honest, yours was better :)) so I know you’re going to do well.

I’ve just got the latest issue of First Edition magazine and read about 5 of the stories. Nothing to worry about there (so far) I haven’t read anything better than what I can write, let alone what you can write, so it’s probably worthwhile sending there just to get something in print (they do short stories and poetry/prose).

I’ll send you my latest story soon, promise. I’ve had a few problems with it, that’s why it’s taking so long, but I think I’m getting there now, so hopefully just a few more days 🙂

phoenixaeon - August 5, 2009

Yeah, I think I’m resigned to waiting till Friday now. Sigh. I hate waiting.

I’ve not had a look at my ECA since I sent it. I don’t want to! I’m sure there were glaring errors, but there’s no point dwelling, so I won’t! I don’t think you should have anything to worry about, your story was good. Now, if you’d have had a story from me to compare against then yours would have come out on top, so stop stressing!

I’ve not read First Edition yet. I might grab a copy over the weekend and have a nosy. As for the story, well, I’ve not send the new Rosie story to you, so don’t worry. I’m done with DVDs at the moment, so maybe I’ll get back to revising during the few spare moments Princi allows me. I’ll try and get it over to you sometime next week. 😀


Leave a Reply

