jump to navigation

Results day: The aftermath. August 7, 2009

Posted by phoenixaeon in End of A215, Re-writing, reading, writing, Writing goals.
trackback

Well, I’m still feeling a little put out after yesterday. But it’s done and dusted now, ain’t no changing it. The timely arrival of the rejection letter added tenfold to my woes, but it has made me more determined to get something in print now.  So it’s time to pick myself up, dust myself down and get on with it. One thing I will say though, that science of happiness experiment must have done something for me (or maybe I’m fooling myself!). I would usually be down in the dumps (yep, just call me Stig!) for about a week after the kick in the teeth that yesterday served me, but instead I marked it all up to experience and got straight back onto the horse. I surprised myself with that!

This meant that I got myself sorted, and last night I e-mailed the Persephone/Cassandra/Yggdrasil poem sequence to First Edition magazine and sent Abyss, gazing to starshipsofa.com. Today I think I might get moving on sending Meat and Gambling on inheritance out somewhere, so poetry magazine research is on the cards later. Then, if I have time, I’ll get back to revising Rosie. Once that’s done, I’ll fix and retitle The Untimely Birthday. I think that story should go to the rebel publishing anthology instead of Rosie; I’ll find somewhere else to send her story.

As for preparations for the next course, well, I’m not reading Little Women now. As with Swallows and Amazons, I’m finding it difficult to get into the story. More’s the pity because I was looking forward to reading it, but I became bogged down in a quagmire of sticky words. Urgh. Only one thing for it, I decided to read Treasure Island instead. To tell the truth I hadn’t expected to enjoy it, so imagine my surprise when I became instantly immersed in the story. I’ve still got a way to go before I finish it, but I’m glad I’ve found a book that I can get my teeth into. Once I’m finished I’ll give one of the slow books another go. After all, they are both required reading for the course. Ho hum!

Comments»

1. dadwhowrites - August 9, 2009

Stephenson was a writer and a half. You should try Doctor Jekyll and Mr Hyde next!

2. skippybird - August 7, 2009

Awww I LOVE little Women and the sequals and Treasure Island. God I weanna be 15 again when I had time to read books!

Huge hugs for your disappointment, altho as someone who got 1 mark short of a 2:1 on her degree I know the bitter taste it leaves even tho I now know that all the best people get a desmond 😉

x

phoenixaeon - August 7, 2009

Aww! Thanks hon. I didn’t read any of these books when I was a kid. Suppose that’s the problem with going to a crappy school and not having the books hanging around the house. Instead I ended up discovering James Herbert, Stephen King and strange science fiction books about giant man-eating crabs! The closest I got to classics was Anne of Green Gables and all the sequels, but I loved them.

3. John Hughes - August 7, 2009

‘Boooooo,’ to the magazine that rejected your poems.
‘Yaaaaaay,’ to you for getting over it so quick.

It sounds like you’ve been a busy girl. Looking forward to reading your stories – and have been for some time 🙂 (I’m one to talk, aren’t I?)

Bad news about my namesake though. 😦 Although he hadn’t done anything for ages, he was still a legend. RIP John Hughes

phoenixaeon - August 7, 2009

I know. A sad day for teenage coming of age films. 😦


Leave a Reply

