jump to navigation

Plumbers and poems. December 2, 2009

Posted by phoenixaeon in Building work, Children's Literature, EA300, OU, Poetry.
trackback

Today the plumbers are in sorting out the new boiler. Ooh, it’s exciting to think that we might have a fire in the front room this Christmas! Last year it was grim, but thankfully not so cold, after the fire was condemned – in May 2008 or round about then – because the fluebox had split. We couldn’t replace the fire as the central heating (at the mo) runs on a back boiler, so we’ve had to wait until the boiler was moved to get a new fire. That day has finally arrived! Woohoo! But the house has been in turmoil over the last few days with moving the furniture out of the way of pipes and whatnot that need replacing. But it is all sorted now and the plumbers are hard at work. Yay!

Well, so much for me not fretting about the last essay. I really hate the fact that my marks will be going down because of the second rate work. I keep telling myself that I have done the best I could, but I’m not sure I did. I’m going to have to bump up my marks a little with the next essay, but at least I feel a little more confident about it with it being poetry. I am more secure when analysing poems, especially when I can choose one of my favourite children’s poems. But I don’t expect I could use the Spike Milligan fave:

Can a parrot eat a carrot

Standing on it’s head?

If I did that my mum would send me

Straight upstairs to bed.

(C) Spike Milligan

because it’s too short! I am thinking of using On the Ning Nang Nong though. Or possibly William Blake’s The Tiger But I think I’ll work through the block before choosing a poem. I might even ask Princi to choose a poem (that isn’t Roald Dahl’s Little Red Riding Hood and the Wolf, as that was used in the first essay), but she might choose Solomon Grundy or Brian’s Picnic by Judith Nicholls, as they are her other favourite poems.

But for now I think I shall go and read The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

