jump to navigation

Customers also bought… March 20, 2010

Posted by phoenixaeon in Bakhtin, books, Children's Literature, EA300, Mortal Engines, OU, TMA06.
trackback

Currently, I am reading critical essays on Mortal Engines by Philip Reeve. It has been interesting to dissect the Orwellian model of dystopia in relation to children’s literature and to see how Reeve sidesteps this to enable hope within the narrative, but the mention of Bakhtin had me running back to my copy of Introducing Bakhtin to discover more about carnivalesque and the grotesque body. HEADWRECK! It’s going to take at least a day to unravel the secrets held within the chapter and I already have too much to read (I would like to re-read Mortal Engines and The Other Side of Truth before I get to writing TMA06). I would love to find a ‘Bakhtin in plain English’ book/website/whatever, so I had a quick look on Amazon to see if there happened to be such a book.

I clicked on one reader. Hoping that there would be a review (no such luck) my eyes skipped down the page but were quickly dragged back to the ‘customers who bought this item also bought’ section. This is what I found:

It’s good to know that I’m on the right track… I have The Graveyard Book! But as for plain English and Bakhtin, I’m not sure they belong in the same sentence together. I shall just have to muddle on!

(OK, so I have just had a quick squizz at the wikipedia pages linked above. I shall use them as a jump off point to begin some notes on the subject.)

Comments»

1. dadwhowrites - March 21, 2010

I confess – wikipedia was my first stop for so many of the French polysyllabic monsters I encountered on my own course. Didn’t always help much, mind.

phoenixaeon - March 23, 2010

I’ve already bought a Bakhtin book, but I was having a little trouble synthesising the terminology. Reading the watered down wiki version did help a little.


Leave a Reply

