jump to navigation

And today I felt like a proper Mum. June 23, 2011

Posted by phoenixaeon in The Principessa Files.
trackback

I finally had the opportunity to do Mummy/school duty today. Out of the numerous school ‘come in and see how the children are getting on’ letters I’ve received I’ve only ever made it into school twice, so when Grandand came home from picking Princi up from school yesterday and told me that there was a big assembly the next morning, I made damned sure I would be getting there.

And there was the triple pay-off:

  1. Princi’s happiness when I said that I would be there to see her play her Big Bad Pig role.
  2. Princi’s smile as we rolled through the streets to school – her on her scooter, Grandand pushing me in the wheelchair.
  3. The huge massive hug that I received from Princi after her class had finished the assembly.

It was brilliant! I felt like a real Mum, and not like the useless flobbledygook I usually feel like when I’m not able to get to school. For once, I didn’t let my baby down. And Princi was absolutely fabulous as the Big Bad Pig:

She'll huff and she'll puff, she's the Big ("colossal") Bad ("despicable") Pig ("EH?")!

 

(And I know it takes more than this to be a proper mum, but this is one area I’ve been sadly lacking in. But it made me happy that I’d made Princi happy.)

Comments»

1. Skippy - July 1, 2011

Awwww that’s fab! Who was more excited you or her?

phoenixaeon - July 4, 2011

I think me! She was brilliant too. And very defensive of me. Some little boy on our way to school saw me in the wheelchair and giggled, then said something to his mum. Princi about-faced on her scooter, charged at him and screamed ‘Don’t you DARE say things about my Mummy!’ She got really angry with him. Poor lad didn’t know what to do!

2. dadwhowrites - June 24, 2011

Surely you know and Princi knows that there is not a single day since she was born when you have been, whatever you felt like, anything else?

phoenixaeon - June 25, 2011

I know, and I did say at the end that I know it takes more than just turning up at school. But I see the turning up at school and showing her that I’m interested in what she’s doing there as one of the important little things. And seeing as I’ve moaned on the blog about not being able to turn up before, I thought it’d be nice to have a more positive post for once!

3. Metajugglamum - June 23, 2011

*sobbing my heart out*

Fantastic post. Gorgeous photo. Brilliant day for you all.
Ya know, I can feel that buzz vibe you’re doing, all the way through our thick air here in FR.

Huggin you Ally. Really hard. xxxx

phoenixaeon - June 25, 2011

Aww, ta 🙂 Hugs back 🙂


Leave a Reply

