jump to navigation

Results day. July 31, 2012

Posted by phoenixaeon in A330, ECA, End of A330, OU.
trackback

Well, the past week or so has been a time of broken sleep and anxiousness. With the mythology course results looming, I’ve not really been able to think of much else. For the first time ever in my OU studies I have managed to consistently clock distinctions, with every assessment returning at 86% or higher. Due to this, I’ve been dreading today. I knew without any shadow of a doubt that my argument wasn’t fantastic – I even know how I could have made it more succinct, but that came almost 2 months after submission. To say that a few final tweaks would have improved it no end is an understatement. Anyway…

I was woken at 6.30am by a starfishing Princi. She had launched another successful ninja bed invasion, so I woke to legs and arms all over me. Gently nudging her awake, I asked her to go back to her own bed (which she did, but not before trying to snuggle back into my side and placating me with ‘I love you, Mummy’). After I had managed to get myself comfortable again, I thought, ‘Let’s just check,’ but to no avail. The results hadn’t been posted, so just like Princi had already done, I fell back into the land of nod… To be (not entirely) rudely awoken at 8.30ish by a text from a friend:

Wakey, wakey. Results are out!

Argh! Noooo! But yes!  But noooooo!

As I logged into the OU site I quietly whispered ‘please’ over and over. I shut my eyes as the page flicked from the log in screen to the course webpage on the iPhone. I slowly unscrunched (I don’t care if it’s a word, that’s what I did!) my eyes to peek at the pages as I anxiously scrolled down to the result. And there it was in all its glorious redness!

WOOHOO!

I had done it, despite the crappy ‘adequate’ argument! Completely relieved, I jumped on the chuffing mintball train, and received a big hug from Princi in celebration! I still can’t quite believe it, nor the fact that I have more or less guaranteed myself a first class honours degree with that result! I had never imagined that was even attainable when I began with the OU, my biggest dream was of achieving a 2:1. But with this distinction and the distinction from the Children’s Literature course… WOOHOO!

So now I’m off to eat some chocolate cake. Nom!

Comments»

1. Dad Who Writes (Gabriel) - August 24, 2012

Hooray! You so deserve it!

2. P - August 3, 2012

Well Done xx

phoenixaeon - August 3, 2012

Thank you x

3. johnhughes21 - August 2, 2012

Nice one! Another gold for team GB! Er, I mean, well done on the distinction. Great scores too, is that a new PB? 😉

Is this the one where you did the Buffy assignment? Can you put that up on the blog now, I’d love to read it.

Anyway, congratulations! Only one more year left – is that right? Have you thought about what you’ll do when you get the degree? Masters? PHD? Write a book maybe?

phoenixaeon - August 2, 2012

Thank you 😀 Yes, this was the Buffy essay. I’ll send it to you, if you want. I know that it’s a little kerfuddled, I hadn’t fully processed my argument before sending it.

Yep, one year left. And maybe I’ll go on to do an MA in children’s literature. I don’t feel that I’m done with that yet!

How’s your writing going?

johnhughes21 - August 2, 2012

Yeah send it, I’m sure it’s a very interesting read 😀 I’ve been having a few problems opening my emails recently. Probably down to having an old slow computer. So if you could put it up on the blog, even better.

I’m just about to do some writing. Still on the same book, but hopefully making (slow) progress. I keep changing my mind about things and then creating extra work for myself. Hopefully I’ll have it finished by the end of 2012 though.

By the way, I notice you’ve read The Hunger Games trilogy. What did you think? I wasn’t overly impressed myself. Started OK, then got progressively worse, I thought. I’ve just started reading Necroscope by Brian Lumley. I remember you mentioning it a while ago. Not far into it yet though.

Are you reading anything at the moment?

phoenixaeon - August 2, 2012

Ah, Necroscope. Possibly my favourite series of books, though I still have a few of them to read – new ones that have been out in the last five or so years. As for The Hunger Games, I enjoyed it but really hated Katniss. I also read the trilogy over three days, something that I’ve never done before, so I didn’t give myself a chance to dislike it. So yeah, I did like it, but it will never be one of my all-time favourites. At the moment I’m jumping between Mary Poppins (P. L. Travers) and Ella Minnow Pea (Mark Dunn).

As for the essay, I’d prefer to send it over rather than blog it. So you best crank your old, slow machine up ready to do some work!

4. metajugglamum - July 31, 2012

YAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!
Well done you. Bluddy fantastic you are 🙂
Enjoy that cake Girl, you deserve every last crumb.

MJM. xxx

phoenixaeon - August 1, 2012

Hey there, lovely lady! Thank you! How are you and the little’un?


Leave a Reply

