jump to navigation

Flibble, flibble, flibble. October 24, 2012

Posted by phoenixaeon in E301, OU, Principessa, TMA01.
trackback

That is the state of my brain right now. Flibbling. Like a flibbly thing. As you might guess, I’m not handling the new course very well. It is, for want of a better word, a headwreck. I really was not expecting it to be so painstakingly difficult.

 

You know, there is a lot to be said about having a little bit of prior interest in something to stoke the spark. I had it with the kidlit course; the first essay could be about Harry Potter/Northern Lights or fairy tales. Nice, familiar territory. That eased me into the course whilst allowing me to get to grips with new terminology and critical readings. Big thumbs up. I had it with the mythology course; the first essay was on a single character from Greek mythology. Eased into the course with a narrow focus, allowing me to get to grips with a new way of studying and essay writing conventions. Big thumbs up. But with this course? An English language course – a language I speak without thinking (most of the time, anyway) everyday?

 

AAAAAAAARRRRRRRGGGGGGGHHHHHHH!

 
It’s like a bloody alien language! And creativity? In English? If it’s been done before then this means it’s creative? Seems back to front to me. I seriously need a playdough brain, just to remould everything I ever knew. I now know that my brain is no longer owl-shaped, rather a flibbling mass of empty nothingness. All I know is that I don’t know nothing. In fact, the level of disorganisation in my head is tantamount to the disorganisation of stuff under Princi’s bed, and considering that her bed is a futon and this is only half of the stuff…

She has taken the art of TARDIS to new levels!

 

So, this is why it’s taken me two weeks of crying, and reading, and crying, and typing just to write the first essay. It has been the hardest essay I’ve ever had to write. And I know that I go into panic mode at essay time, but all the other times I had at least an inkling that I was understanding what I was reading. No such luck here. I may have encountered some familiar theorists along the way, but for the sheer density of the information being tattooed on my mind in water-soluble crayons, even this little bit of familiarity didn’t help. And this is why I will be happy just to pass this first essay. 40%. That is all I ask. Because I still haven’t got to grips with what was being asked in the essay. I am just hoping that the course clicks for me before the next essay, as I really don’t want to go through this brain-ache again!

 

Oh, and on the subject of crayons, I really want to write a story with a character called Crayola Jones after misreading the name Carolyn the other day. I have no idea why it morphed into Crayola, but I quite like it! And one last thing, a thing to raise a giggle, it’s interesting to see what ends up on my phone when Princi uses it to keep herself occupied:

The eyes have it!

Comments»

1. phoenixaeon - November 2, 2012

Ooh, glad I don’t have to apply for another course (*fingers crossed* as long as I pass this course)! Are you sure you can’t apply for financial support online? It usually pops up on the course page with a link. Then you fill it in, print it off, sign it and collate any evidence you need, then send it off. Otherwise it’s asking for the forms to be sent to you snailmail.

Tapdancing Lexicon - November 4, 2012

I did get access to the forms online – they’ve changed since September, and it’s a whole different process. I’ll be filling them out later today, whoop

2. Pip - October 28, 2012

Sorry you’re struggling! I’ve just registered for U214 – Worlds of English – to start in February. This time we shall actually complete the registration process! It’s all changed, I’m a bit lost 😦 I think I’m supposed to wait for details of how to apply for financial support to be emailed to me…

I like the pictures of Niamh 😀 She looks rather grown up when you only see the top of her head


Leave a Reply

