jump to navigation

That’s the way, aha aha, I like it! July 26, 2013

Posted by phoenixaeon in Children's Literature, Degrees, E301, ECA, Holy heck my head's exploding!, hospital, OU.
trackback
Woohoo!

Woohoo!

Yay! I did it! I got the first-class honours! I am so chuffed, the mintball train is positively chugging out the mintballs.

So the results for E301 came in. I was dreading this day, because it meant my OU experience was all but over (I still have my graduation ceremony to come). But I felt no dread staring at the nice red letters declaring I had a pass 2 for E301. It was only relief and jubilation.

How in the world did I manage 90% on the EMA?

How in the world did I manage 90% on the EMA?

Firstly, relief I had passed the EMA (the OES score). Then jubilation that I had somehow written something that was worth 90%. How in hell? Unbelievable! Thirdly, what was the point in applying the substitution when no matter what way you looked at it  – without substitution 79.35%, with substitution 79.45%, rounded down for the actual OCAS 79% – it wasn’t going to affect my result. I don’t know. Pointless maths at its most pointless. But whatever – I HAD PASSED! Joy of joys.

And that was just the topping on the cake of joy, which I had gratefully been chomping since yesterday. The first slice of joy appeared in the form of an email. This email contained my holy grail: a conditional offer of acceptance into the Children’s Literature MA at Roehampton University. *Snoopy dance* Now I have the first-class honours, this is a done deal. Can you see that super bright beam of light? No, it’s not a light sabre, that’s me in my happy. Yay! However, my happy also contains elements of gut-wrenching fear after seeing the reading lists for the modules. Yikes! Here’s hoping I can actually do this. I am so worried I am going to botch it all up.

The second slice of joy came at a hospital appointment. I had gone to meet with a surgeon about an operation to remove my gall bladder. Over the last few years I have been suffering with crippling, painful gallstone attacks. But thanks to Niamhie forcing our Lent promise, I have managed to change my diet quite drastically, meaning I haven’t had an attack since April. Once I had told the surgeon this he proposed that if I continued for the next couple of months without another attack then the operation could be deferred. Yay! I was petrified of this operation, as the meeting with the anaesthetist raised fears of being on a ventilator for the rest of my life due to the affects the muscle relaxant would have in combination with the muscular dystrophy. Now the possibility of not needing the operation is there, it’s made me more determined to keep up with the improved diet and not fall back into bad eating habits. Woohoo!

So there is my happy slice of cakey life as of today. I was aiming for 2:1 degree, but I think I overshot a little *squeeee*. Here, have some mintballs!

Comments»

1. Dad Who Writes (Gabriel) - July 29, 2013

Hooray, hooray, hooray! That absolutely smashes any ‘condition’ offers then?

phoenixaeon - July 29, 2013

Should do 😀

2. kirstyross85 - July 28, 2013

Well done x I remember waiting for E301 results this time last year xxxx yours are amazing x and congratulations on not needing the op too. I had mine out 2 years ago when it collapsed due to the amount of pain medication I waa on x

phoenixaeon - July 29, 2013

Thanks, Kirsty 😀 So glad the degree is over now. Worried now about what I’ve let myself in for with the MA. Is your degree all complete now? xx

kirstyross85 - July 29, 2013

E301 was my final module too x didn’t have a graduation ceremony because it was only a couple of sqya before I had Oliver x

3. metajugglamum - July 28, 2013

Allie I am absolutely thrilled for you my Love. I’m so pleased I’m jumping around my lounge .., you SO deserve this! No-one could have worked harder for it than you have and this is the only result that could in any way have reflected the effort you have put it. Well done Babe. Now go treat yourself and that lovely girl of yours to summat a bit more exciting than mintballs!!! 🙂

Lots of love and luck for the next chapter me darlin.

F. xxx

phoenixaeon - July 28, 2013

Thank you so much! Though the only thing I’ve been able to treat me and the Munchkin to is a day of tidying up! Ho hum. 🙂 xx

4. johnhughes21 - July 28, 2013

Nice one! I always knew you’d get a first though, you clever girl 😀

Glad to hear about the MA too (where the hell is Roehampton?). Does this mean you’ve found your niche now with children’s literature? If so, great! Maybe one day you’ll be a leading expert in the field, do lectures and talk on TV and that 😉

So when’s the graduation ceremony and do you have to wear the traditional outfit (dunno what it’s called) you know, the black gown and square hat? If so, you’ll have to post some pics, please! 😀

phoenixaeon - July 28, 2013

Thanks, John 😀

I’m hoping I’ve found my niche. Though going on TV? I doubt it very much! And Roehampton is in London.

Graduation is in October, and yes, I have to wear the gowns. Though the mortarboard is optional. I think the photographers have them there for the official photography, though.

5. skippybird - July 26, 2013

Legend! Well done you!

phoenixaeon - July 26, 2013

Ta muchly 😀


Leave a Reply

