jump to navigation

Year One. May 15, 2014

Posted by phoenixaeon in Essay written, MA, reading.
trackback
Laser Loops.

Laser Loops.

[Apology for absence] Oops, sorry. Six months since I last posted. I am a blog neglecter. Please accept my apology in the form of little Loops with laser-beam eyes. [/Apology for absence]

 

As of yesterday, the first year of my MA came to an end. Holy cramola, that was hard work! I think I need to invest in rubber walls for next year, as my head bounced from one theoretical perspective to another with only the vaguest understanding of what was going on! Saying that, I was so glad to have at least have done the linguistics course with the OU, as that really helped at the beginning of the year. My critic crush on Bakhtin also came in useful, so I have decided that I will take the time to thoroughly read more Bakhtin stuff over the summer. And I will also get to grips with Marxism too.

 

These last few weeks have been taken up with the two big end of year essays – and I don’t quite know how I managed to write them. The first essay looked at the construction of identity in Almond and McKean’s Mouse Bird Snake Wolf (yes, I have taken my Dave McKean obsession into the MA too!) through the theoretical perspectives of carnivalesque and mythic archetypes. The second essay looked at death and morality and their combined effects on femininity and female values in Little Women, Seven Little Australians, and Peter Pan. I shocked myself with my choice of texts here because I hate Little Women and I’m not overly keen on Peter Pan, either. But Jo, Beth, Wendy, and Tinkerbell make for good essay fodder. I am hoping it’s good essay fodder, as now I have the month-long wait before the results come back. If I happened to be a nail biter, then I’d probably say something like, “I’ll probably not have any nails left by results day.” As it is, I’ll most likely just have a frazzled brain and a fractured mind instead!

 

So now Year One is done with, and as long as I pass, it’s now time to prepare for Year Two. That means a module of creative writing and a module of picture books. I am both looking forward to and feeling angsty about this. Looking forward to the picture books because I can easily lose myself in interpretations of the artwork; angsty about the creative writing because it’s so subjective and because my brain is on holiday from all things creative at the moment. I am trying to kickstart the muse with some Wreck This Journal-ing and maybe attempting to make a cuddly penguin for Princi out of some of her old clothes. I’m secretly hoping for some crazy spam comments – they sometimes lead to some fun creative play too (really wish I’d have kept the one about snow beasts and winter festivities, that might have given me something to run with!). *Fingers crossed* it nudges some life into my creative spark. If not, I will have to hope the summer reading list helps (of which this is just a little taster):

  • Tinder by Sally Gardner
  • One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel García Márquez
  • Wonder by R. J. Palacio
  • Tanglewreck by Jeanette Winterson
  • A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
  • Varjak Paw and The Outlaw Varjak Paw by SF Said.
  • A whole bunch of creative writing books that will be used for the module.

And that is that. I will try to blog a little more regularly. And I’ll try to make it more interesting too.

 

 

Comments»

1. Tapdancing Lexicon - June 7, 2014

(Late to the party)

I can’t believe it’s been a year already!

If you want to get back into a creative writing frame of mind, I have a short story I’ve written that I could really use somebody’s opinion on before I find somewhere to send it?

It’s sort of a jump from your post to there, but I was thinking about asking you anyway

phoenixaeon - June 7, 2014

Yeah, I’ll take a look 🙂

2. Metajugglamum - May 15, 2014

I love you, you really are truly marvellous. And gutsy and, well SO bloody gutsy. I hope you give yourself a second out to be really proud of what you are doing and what you have achieved. Chuffed to bits for you and yeah, just a little bit jealous of your drive as mine seems to have temporarily buggared off!! Amazing dear Lady, xx

phoenixaeon - May 16, 2014

Hiya lovely! Thank you! And there’s no need to be jealous of the drive… It’s a push to get anything done and I fight with lazy motivation every day. Some days it even refuses to get out of bed. You’ll rip the duvet from your motivation soon, I’ve no doubt. *Huge hugs*


Leave a Reply

